20 days is enough to train for a half, right?

Yes, for all you runners out there, you read that properly.

I’ve boasted before about how I have signed up (well, was forced to, due to a wedding present ;)) for my second half marathon.

When we signed up for the half, we were both incredibly excited and ready to get training.  I created a training plan from a few others that I have been researching – I needed it to fit our lives a little bit better.

Well, I’ll be the first to admit. The training for this half marathon has SUCKED. 

Listed below is all of the ridiculous thoughts I have had/should have had/need to have:

  •  “oh, I’ve done this once already so I should be able to do it again”
  • “I can definitely do this after taking 1.5 months off of running and getting married i.e. eating, drinking, and being merry”
  • “Sure, it’s okay to gain 12 pounds after the last half – your knees can definitely handle it”
  • “You will definitely run every day while on your 2.5 week long honeymoon and for sure follow your training plan”
  • “You have 10 chapters and 4 journal articles to read for class? No problem, you can run tomorrow. 3 rest days in a row is good”
  • “Go ahead, catch up on all of your tv shows, have your coffee and your breakfast and plan to run at 3pm when it’s 90 degrees out”

Yes, I know, completely irrational. But so so so so so what is happening in my life right now. 

Reality: I have 20 days until the half marathon. 

My Goal: FINISH. 

I think FINISHING is the moral of the story.  It’s so incredibly easy to get down when I don’t run as long or as well as I would like to.  I think it’s so normal for you to want your body (and your mind) to be able to accomplish something and then being disappointed when it doesn’t happen.  I am absolutely there. 

I really need to remind myself of the following things:

  • It’s been one year since I have really been running for “fun”. That’s it.
  • I’ve already completed one half marathon – the second one is just for the challenge.
  • My mind is my biggest challenge when I am running.  If I could just shut off the little devil, I would have no problem.
  • I know I run an average of a 9:30-11:30 minute mile. I don’t care – I AM DOING IT.
  • I CAN DO IT.  Whether I run, walk, or crawl to the finish line. I will finish.
  • There are so many who can’t run.  Why should I complain about a voluntary sign up for a race?
  • It’s not about the can’t. It’s about the can.

I should take a picture of my training plan to let you all see how atrocious it is.  But the reality is that I have been getting out there. I have been thinking about it, I have been planning for it.  I can do this. I just need to head and my legs to follow my inspirational words. 

Easier said than done, right? 

IMG_2932

Related links:

Motivational Quotes by Carrots n Cake

Clean Eating and Motivation by Half Virgin

How to Train for your First Half Marathon by All in Stride

2 thoughts on “20 days is enough to train for a half, right?

  1. Well, this has certainly made me feel better. 🙂 I’m skipping the half-marathon at the beginning October as there is just no way for me to get prepared for it in time.
    I haven’t been the model runner in the last few months, no particular reason, but I understand all your “ridiculous thoughts” on the subject.
    I think the most important thing is to keep doing when it feels right and who cares how slow you run? I’m pretty sure I run slower than you (I track it in km so I don’t know how much it makes per mile).

Share your thoughts!

