Farmers Market Trip!

I just love the farmer’s market! I love shopping local and being able to support local farmers. I wish that we had more money to be able to spend at the market, but we didn’t go to the ATM before we went, so we had just $3 to spend!

We are lucky enough that we have the town’s farmer’s market just 2 blocks away from our house!

We didn’t have much time to head in on Saturday because I had to work, but I told Mike I wanted to find something different to make with our “special dinner” – yes, we celebrated one month of being married. We’re those people.

So for $3, we got 2 zucchinis and 2 summer squash.

2013-07-28 08.32.54Yummmmm 🙂

I was going to keep it simple and just make chicken breasts and slice up the veggies and bake them.  But, lucky for us, the dogs got up early on Sunday and so I was able to enjoy coffee and Pinterest.  The perfect early Sunday morning, really.

I decided to make halved, scooped, baked zucchini.  I found the recipe on the Kayotic Kitchen and adapted it for what I wanted!

Ingredients needed:

  • 2 zucchini (we had one big and one little one)
  • 1 onion
  • 1 tomato
  • 1 tbsp sour cream
  • cheese – I used extra sharp cheddar and parmesean
  • Parsley (snipped outta my little garden)
  • bacon bits (or regular bacon, I was just lazy)
  • Ranch seasoning packet
  • pinch of salt
  • pinch of pepper

2013-07-28 17.24.23

I scooped out the zucchini, cut up the guts plus the tomato and onion, and then mixed all the rest of the ingredients together!

2013-07-28 17.24.30

I’m showing off this amazing cutting board – we got it for our wedding and it’s THE BEST.  It fits right over the sink and has the strainer attached that I like to use for my little garbage bucket as I’m cooking.  The little things in life are so amazing, aren’t they?

2013-07-28 17.29.11

This is what the zucchini looked like after I had scooped, chopped, and filled! Looking back, the only thing that I would have done differently is cut the bottoms of the zucchini so that they laid flat on the tray.  They were slip sliding all over the place. I baked them in the oven for about 35 minutes at 350 degrees.  I added a little extra cheese, some snippets of parsley, and…

2013-07-28 19.01.14voila! DELICIOUS!

I gotta figure out how I am going to cook the summer squash now that I didn’t use it for this meal! Hellloooo Pinterest! 🙂

 

 

 

Share your thoughts!

