Rest is for the weak.

Well, not really.

Today is a rest day for me, I always get very antsy on these days.

Because of all the wedding posts, I haven’t been able to really get into talking about how I started training this week for my next half marathon! And yes, I am crazy.

You might remember my recap from my first half marathon on May 5, 2013.  My friend Lindsey and I ran the Borgess Half Marathon in Kalamazoo, Michigan.  We finished the race in 2:24 with the goal of 2:30 in mind.  Gotta love beating your goal!

We signed up for the race initially as kind of a “let’s cross this off the bucket list” kinda thing.  We finished the race thinking we were going to sign up for another (after we were able to catch our breath, avoid calf cramping, and speak).  And here we are. 

Sowa and I

Lindsey got me one of the best wedding presents, ever. She signed me up for the race! We had been talking about it for weeks, but with the madness of the wedding, I just didn’t get around to signing up. So, she forced me to do it.  We are going to be doing the Brooksie Half Marathon on September 29, 2013.  My goal is to be able to run this half in under 2:10.  I think it’s realistic to try to shave off 5 minutes – especially since it’s a fall half and I think the training will be MUCH different! I’m gonna try to stay of the treadmill as much as possible – hopefully it doesn’t snow this summer, but who knows, it’s Indiana.

A major problem in the training is that we are going to be on our honeymoon for a good chunk of it.  So, that’s special.

Monday started our training plan.  I constructed the training plan out of 5-6 different plans that I have researched and tried to tailor it to fit both of our needs and our time demands.  We are going with a 10 week training plan this time around (last time we followed the Hal Higdon Novice training program).  I wanted to incorporate some hill workouts, some lifting, and adequate rest days.

half marathon training program

As you can see from the plan, there are a few stars 🙂 Monday’s 3 mile runs also need to incorporate a hill workout.  Sunday is either for cross training, lifting, and/or rest. I learned last race how incredibly important it is to listen to your body.  If your body needs a rest day, take it. 

Hopefully this training program works…. I am educated, I am smart. But if it doesn’t get us prepared, it’s all on me. Eeeekkk!!

Get your sweat in this weekend and don’t forget to have some fun! 

One thought on “Rest is for the weak.

Share your thoughts!

