Robin Roberts and the ESPYs

I tried to watch the 2013 ESPYs when they aired, but sleep got the best of me.  One of my friends filled me in on what happened and especially filled me in on the Arthur Ashe award for courage – awarded to news anchor, Robin Roberts.

I have always been a big fan of Robin Roberts – while I don’t remember her as a sports anchor, I do like watching her on Good Morning America.  Typically, I am more of a Today Show girl, I don’t quite know why, but I have always appreciated her style of reporting, her emotion, and how much she has given back.

Unlike the other awards at the ESPYs, this award not necessarily athletic related; yet it seems as though those who have won in the past have some tie to athletics.  I have known about the medical struggles Robin has faced and have been completely in awe at her resilience, fight, strength, passion, and courage – she is a perfect recipient for this award.

ESPN aired an amazing video during the ESPYs that highlighted Robin’s family, her career, and her medical struggles.    I cried while watching this video.  What an amazing woman.  As a mid-twenties, middle class, white female I often allow myself to slip away from reality and “forget” about the struggles of some of the most powerful and influential women today.  Growing up, Robin faced so many adversities with being a black woman from the south and wanting to become a sports reporter. But, she never gave up. I am just fascinated and have so much admiration for women who never gave up, who pushed through the sexism, the oppression, the discrimination…. Here I am today, able to pursue my dreams because of women like Robin.

I am sure that all of you reading this have some connection to someone who has cancer, or an autoimmune disorder, or a psychological disorder.  The struggles of others are felt by many.  We internalize our concerns, we fight along side a loved one, we reach out in help.  None of us are immune to cancer, disease, heartache, struggle.  Robin Roberts has made her struggles public – so many have connected with her battle.  My charge is that you take a stance – find a way to help. Sign up to be an organ donor, a bone marrow donor, or to give blood.  We are all just people, and we need to look out for one another.

Take some time to watch the videos I have posted below.  Robin has two amazing quotes that I believe so many can relate to and often need to be remembered as we soar through this journey of life.

“It’s not so much what we accomplish at the end of the day, it’s what we’ve overcome that you remember the most.”

“When fear knocks, let faith answer the door.”

Thank you, Robin for being a source of inspiration, motivation, and love. 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Robin Roberts and the ESPYs

  1. So beautifully said, Jenny! My favorite Robin Roberts’ quote was when she said that having cancer wasn’t the story of her life, but rather a chapter in the story of her life. I think about that quote every day. Take care, Renee

Share your thoughts!

