Scrumptious Energy Bars

I’m a crazy freak.  

A while ago my lovely fiance bought tickets to two Dave Matthews Band shows this weekend. As in, the weekend before our wedding.  I told him when he bought the tickets (in December?!?) that I could not guarantee my presence… as it was the weekend before the wedding.

Well, not everything is done for the wedding, but I need to get the heck away from it before my head explodes.

So, I gave in. And agreed to go.

I’m incredibly excited… we saw the band at Noblesville last year and it was amazing. The shows were killer, the sun was hot, the beer was cold, and the coolest thing was that we could camp right on site.

Knowing we will be camping again this time — and it’s the weekend before our wedding — I can’t eat like I did last year. So, I decided to trust Pinterest to find some delicious snacks I could make to avoid eating Doritos, Cheetos, Lays and all the other crap I ate last year. I am camping with two guys… they are most excited about the crap food.  This recipe is so good that I probably won’t have to even tell them it’s healthy!

I found this link for protein bars. I’ve always heard of making protein bars, but I just haven’t done it. I have NO CLUE why! They are DELICIOUS! and will be able to fill me up for breakfast this weekend and for when I want to snack!

I adapted this recipe from this website…

Ingredients

– 2 scoops dry whole grain oatmeal

– 4 scoops vanilla whey protein powder

– 1/2 natural peanut butter

– 1/3 cup skim milk

– 2 mashed bananas

– handful of blueberries

– 1/4 cup coconut

– 2 Tbspoon Flaxseed

– 1/2 tspoon honey

2013-06-17 12.31.14

FINALLY GOT TO USE MY KITCHENAID MIXER!!! Isn’t she pretty???

2013-06-17 12.36.30

Add ingredients together in a large bowl. The recipe didn’t call for a mixer, but I wanted to use mine!

2013-06-17 12.44.25

Yummy – mix till it’s all blended together.  It will be thick and seem clumpy.

2013-06-17 12.48.16

Spray your pan down and spread evenly.

((I probably could have used a bigger pan, but didn’t))

Put the pan into the fridge for 30 minutes to let it cool and stick all together.

2013-06-17 13.56.40Cut and enjoy!  So, so, so easy. 

I sliced mine up and individually wrapped them so more people can enjoy them!

Share your thoughts!

