Sunday workout

I got up this morning thinking, “man, I really need to get my workout in”.

Instead I started the day out with homework (and Monsters, Inc.) and swiftly lost motivation to work out.  So, I decided I’d take the dogs for a walk.  It’s a beautiful day, mid-70’s, and we haven’t been on a walk in a while.

Admittedly, we have not been all that great about teaching our 7 month old Stella how to go on walks.  I’ve tried, and failed many times.  So, we just don’t do it.  I usually resort to taking them to the dog park to run around… completely opposite of what I want her to do on the leash, but still so good for the both of them.

So today, I started with taking Stella (the aussie) out for a few laps around the block to get her a little tired before I brought out Tinsley (the chug).  We got some water, harnessed up Tins and off we went! I tried to keep it pretty close to our house as I know Stella’s inability to walk on a leash.  We live pretty close to a city building and voila! I found a set of stairs that would be great for a workout!

The pups and I did 10 runs up and down the stairs, stopping for water halfway (for them, not me). I definitely worked up a sweat!

Then we moved over to the park right by our house… there’s an awesome bridge that goes over a pretty wide river that I frequently use to end my workouts as an added challenge.  Well, I decided that we rocked the stairs so well, we might as well do 10 runs up the bridge!

Lesson of the day: It’s always important to wear a really good sports bra when you’re taking your dogs for a walk – you never know what kind of workout can be inspired. 🙂 

2013-06-16 11.50.01Me and my running buddies… best picture I could get of us post-run…all they wanted was water.

Share your thoughts!

