My father was a mountain of a man.

I struggled that last year was 10 years. I can’t believe this year is 11.

It’s been 11 years since my dad lost his life. He was 54, I was 15.

11 years ago my world was shattered.  11 years later, I say that my world was rocked but it has continued on.  The pain is still deep, the want is still there, and I miss him as much today as I did 11 years ago. But, my family is proof that life does move on.

We have had our ups and our downs, and I know we will continue to do so. That’s life – with or without loss. 

386200_10150512809207597_1767582477_n

My dad was the most amazing man.  He was a hard worker, a great role model, and provided an amazing life for my family.  He had almond shaped eyes that disappeared when he laughed or smiled – he had a distinct laugh that often brought tears to his eyes.  He smiled with pride, definitely had a “don’t piss me off” face (especially in the car when we were little), and had an overall love and appreciation for life.  He was a questionable dresser (I wish I had a picture of the short shorts, the acid washed jeans, and the iridescent shirt…), wore Velcro shoes at the cabin, and his hands were always dirty (yet clean somehow) which showed how hard he worked.

My dad was a family man. He loved my brothers and I and would do anything for his “bubs” and his “doll”. He and my mom were so in love and together they provided the most incredible example of what a marriage should be like.  I bet he would be so proud of our family today. We have struggled together, held together, and grown together.  We have gone from a family of 5 to a broken family of 4.  Today, we are a family of 6 – soon to be a family of 8.  If he were here on this Earth, I can only imagine how his eyes would sparkle at the site of his granddaughter, Mackenzie.  And how he would love and treat our (soon-to-be) spouses as one of his own.  It’s so weird to think that my sister-in-law, my soon-to-be husband, and my soon-to-be sister-in-law have never met him… but I believe we have been able to portray who he was through our stories, our pictures, and ourselves.

2013-04-14 17.23.10

I wish he was around to be able to walk me down the aisle in 17 days… but I know he’s will me. Always.  I am very proud that my mom will walk me down the aisle – she is an incredible woman. 

Ever wonder where I got the name for this blog? Life is short, but it is sweet.  Words from the Dave Matthews Band – words that I live by.  My dad left this world 11 years ago, his life was cut too short.  But the reality is that this life is sweet and we need to live it with all we’ve got.

Life is short, but sweet for certain. 

Rest in Peace Don Sims

1/3/48 – 6/12/02

Looking forward to getting to see you once again. xoxo

IMG_1220 IMG_1217 IMG_1216 IMG_1215 IMG_1213 IMG_1209 206103_10151010558702597_588997400_n

Check out some other posts I’ve wrote about my amazing dad:

– 9/11/12

Well, the world is supposed to end today, right?

This weeks fake Wine Wednesday birthday celebration

One thought on “My father was a mountain of a man.

Share your thoughts!

