Anticipation? Excitement? Nervousness? I really have no clue.

Back on October 28, 2012 I mentioned for the first time that I was thinking about running a half marathon.

Well, the time is here, on Sunday (Cinco de Mayo!) I will be running my very first half marathon.

br13-logo

As I sit here and write this post, I have absolutely no idea how I am feeling about it.  Every now and then I get butterflies (probably more or less just the feeling of having to pee from drinking so much water).  Then when I look up stuff about the course or just think about it, I get pretty excited.  In all honesty, I just want Sunday to be over with.

I started my training on February 10, 2013 and it’s been really fun to write this post and look back and re-read through what I have discussed throughout this journey.  I will admit that I have taken quite the hiatus from blogging because of the craziness of the end of my school year, but there have been so many ups and downs about this training that I haven’t discussed.  I have been following the Hal Higdon Novice 2 Half Marathon training program  and I have really appreciated how it is set up.  I feel as though I have been able to schedule my runs in accordingly and that it has fit in really well with my life.

I know, sexy pants, you're jealous :)

On the other hand, I have taken it quite easy the last two weeks and I’m not sure if it’s a good thing or a bad thing.  In the middle of the training, I got sick and took off 2 weeks from running and as I tried to get back into it, I found myself beating myself up for not meeting my goals.  Until one day, week 9 of my training, I set out to run a 10k on my own and ended up getting the whole 13.1 in.  I needed it, I needed to know I could do it.  However – I didn’t prepare my body well enough for it.  I drank the night before (and probably the few nights before), didn’t drink enough water, had a HUGE breakfast, and didn’t plan out for energy along the way. But, I did it. and it was EXACTLY what I needed.

2013-04-13 14.17.19

Since that point in time, I have been getting in light runs, resting up my shins, and continuing to gain inspiration from the girls I coach through Girls on the Run.  I have been reading much more than I probably should about preparing for a half, one word mantras, etc.  There is so much of me that is questioning why I am actually running this race.  Why did I even sign up for it in the first place? I’ve been thinking long and hard about this I’ve concluded that,

Number 1: I am running this race for me.  I have never been a runner, ever.  But I have grown to enjoy the challenge, the time to myself, the rush afterwards, and the routine.  I know I don’t run fast, but that’s not what it’s about.  It’s about completing, it’s about finishing what I set out to do.  I am running for me. 

I can do this. I will do this.

2013-02-21 09.54.10

Wouldn't be a good wrap-up if I didn't include a red face picture!

I am a warrior! :)

My face is ALWAYS so red!

Number 2: I am running this race for my Girls on the Run.  I recently became a coach and involved in this organization and I couldn’t be happier to be associated with it.  The girls I work with every week are an inspiration.  Some of the girls love to run and are very self-confident.  Then there are those who are like me when I was younger.  A little bigger (embarrassed about it), athletic (but not as good as everyone else), and dedicated.  I am running for all of these girls – I want to be an inspiration and I want to show them you can do whatever you set your mind to.  On Sunday, I am running the race as a SoleMate and have raised money for the Girls on the Run organization to allow the opportunity for more girls to be a part of this program. (If you’d like to donate to my cause, click here). I am running for the Girls on the Run. 

2013-04-12 15.34.51 2013-03-12 15.18.23
2013-04-12 14.14.08

2013-05-03 12.03.08 2013-05-03 12.03.20

Number 3: I am running for my fiance.  Sounds weird, right?  Mike has supported me through this entire journey.  This training has allowed me the opportunity to get in shape for my wedding and help take my mind of the stress of wedding planning and school.  Mike has pushed me to do my runs, supported me when I’ve gotten back (beat red, sweating, and barely talking), and expressed how proud he is of me.  He is my rock. I am running for Mike, my husband in 57 days. 

2013-04-14 12.36.41IMG_1189

Number 4: I am running for my dad.  As I’ve talked about before my dad passed away suddenly almost 11 years ago from an accident at work.  My dad was always so encouraging of my involvement in athletics and supported me through and through.  He was my biggest fan, even when I wasn’t the best/fastest/most skilled at what I was doing.  He taught me to breathe like I pregnant lady giving birth because my face would get so red. He inspired me to be the best.  I know that if he were here, he would have encouraged me throughout this entire journey.  I know he’ll be there with me for the entire 13.1 miles and he’ll help me get through.  I am running for my dad. 

IMG_1218

I am running – isn’t that all that matters? 

I’ve talked about my one word mantra a few times but haven’t shared it.  Well, here it is…. batshitcrazy.  One word, right? Well, this is bat shit crazy.  Running 13.1 miles is bat shit crazy.  I am sure I will be saying this over and over and over again in my head as I complete each mile.

If you have any advice for me for Sunday, I would love to hear it.  I want to make sure I am doing all the right things and want to be as prepared as possible.  I have been drinking a TON of water, eating healthy, stopped drinking alcohol, been trying to get sleep (unsuccessfully), planning out my outfit and my energy sources.  Additionally, I will be going up on Saturday and spending the night before the race so I don’t have to drive up on Sunday.  I plan to get there very early (I’m not usually good at this, at all – I’m usually the one still standing in line to pee 3 minutes before the race starts).

I’d love to hear any thoughts you have.

Thanks for reading about my little journey – can’t wait to update once it is over. 

Please keep me in your prayers! 

2 thoughts on “Anticipation? Excitement? Nervousness? I really have no clue.

  1. I am so proud of you and so excited for you! I wish I could be at the finish line to cheer you on, or better yet, running with you! Not that I could keep up… but who’s counting… when in Rome.

    Run for fun and remember all of your other reasons. You’re gonna kick ass. And in just a few short days you’ll be in VA with meeeee! 🙂

Share your thoughts!

