This weekend, I became a runner.

That’s right, I said it. I am a runner.

Surprisingly, saying those words doesn’t make me want to vomit.

More surprisingly, my 7.38 mile run on Saturday didn’t make me want to vomit either.

I actually had the first day where I thought that I can do this. 

 

Here’s why I know I am now a runner….

  • I used MapMyRun to plan out where I was going to go.
  • I took off my long sleeve shirt two miles in, while running, and holding the dog, without dropping my tunes
  • I ran on a path that was snow covered. Yup, didn’t turn around.
  • I dropped my dog off at home at the halfway point.
  • I ATE MY FIRST GU PACKET (strawberry-banana, pretty gross and thick)
  • I used my new handheld water bottle 🙂
  • I ran my longest distance: 7.38 miles. 
  • I put my legs up when I got home and was able to catch my breath.
  • I actually stretched after I ran. Seriously.
  • I used my foam roller after my run.
  • I got calf cramps while in line for the movies.
  • I brought in my own Nalgene of water to the movies (oops). And filled it up twice. (oops).
  • I woke up Sunday with wicked ITB pain. Such is life.
  • I loved hearing the words “I’m proud of you babe” when I walked in the door 🙂

 

THIS IS WHAT 7.38 MILES LOOKS LIKE. 

I can do this. I will do this.
I can do this. I will do this.

 

 

 

 

 

 

****yes, I know that I have a long way before I get to 13.1…. but hey, life is short and sweet, right? It’ll happen. 

 

8 thoughts on “This weekend, I became a runner.

    1. Haha the waterbottle was a split second TJ Maxx clearance decision. I am so used to running with the dog leash in my right hand that I feel weird not holding something…. So the waterbottle works great!

      And yes, everyone tells me the Gu is essential for long runs. Gotta test out the flavors!!

  1. Awesome Jen!!!! I’m so proud of you! I got up to 7 miles right after college but then started having sciatic nerve pain. Heard it was periformus (sp?) syndrome and haven’t run much since. I would love to start running again.

    1. Thanks Sheryl! It hasn’t been easy by any means, but it’s so awesome to see my improvement! Piriformis syndrome is really hard, I suffer through it a little bit, but hasn’t stopped me yet!! Hopefully it’s not genetic 😉

    1. Thank you 🙂 I’ll have to check those out! I thought they would have been to thick, but it seems like they are all really thick! Thanks for the tip!

  2. awesome job! i actually use the GU gels when i run a measly 5k lol! definitely kinda gross but they work! you are gonna rock that half mary!!! and yes to the previous poster — i find the non-fruity gels (vanilla, chocolate, etc) easier to get down.

    1. this is great information! I will definitely have to get the non-fruity ones and try them out! No worry in using them for your 5ks, I really do like the energy they give!!! I have a 5k this weekend and I’m going to be using them!

      Thanks for exploring around my little blog 🙂

Share your thoughts!

