Fun Baby Gifts (Part 2)

Okay, here’s what I’m really excited about….

For Christmas I got a sewing machine (and all the fixins). I have no idea how to sew anything beyond a button on a pair of pants. So, naturally one day a few weeks ago I was exploring around JoAnn’s looking for wedding stuff and scrapbook stuff and I ventured into the fabric section.  Big mistake.

I came outta there with 5 yards of adorable fabric and not a clue of what to do.

Helllllooooooo blogs and YouTube videos!!!!

I found this amazing blog, Lu Bird Baby, where she walks through how to make a strip quilt. It was PERFECT because I had no idea what to do. Thank you for sharing your advice!

First thing I did was read the directions on my sewing machine figured out all the fun stitches, played around in the orange string, and pricked myself way too many times with the needle.

Then, I started sewing.  I apologize that I didn’t take ANY pictures of the process…. let me tell you it was not pretty. I had too small of a space (thank you to all the wedding jumble everywhere), dogs trying to eat all the fabric, and again, had no clue what I was doing.

BUT – I AM SO HAPPY WITH HOW IT TURNED OUT!!!!! 

2013-03-04 19.49.38

2013-03-04 19.49.49 2013-03-04 19.49.55 2013-03-04 19.50.08(the pictures aren’t the greatest, but you get the idea)

The best part: My dad always wore these really ugly shorts when we were up at our cabin… the colors, among the finest were purple and red. When we were cleaning out the cabin before my mom sold it, we had a lot of chuckles over the shorts and everyone seemed to hesitate when we were about to throw them out. So of course I took them, knowing I’d find something to do with it. So, I added the back pocked from the purple shorts and a heart with the red shorts.  (I even stuffed the heart!)

2013-02-28 15.45.15That’s the main reason why you’ll see lil Mack in those pictures crouched down by the pocket. I love this. And I hope she loves it for a long time.

Very important things I learned while tackling this project that was too advance for me anyways:

  • It’s important to know how to sew before sewing
  • When making a quilt, it’s probably easier to do a plain fabric back than a patterned one like I did because they were different widths
  • Make sure you have a clear, large area to sew
  • It’s really difficult to attach the pieces together with the filling  in the middle…. there’s not enough space!
  • Binding is probably the hardest thing, ever. I tried to follow this YouTube tutorial and still it looked awful. I’m not going to even tell you what I had to do to the corners.
  • You really can bleed from getting your finger caught by the needle while still pushing down on the foot pedal.  I got some on the blanket – but since it went to my niece and I don’t have any diseases, I decided it was okay.
  • Sewing takes time and patience. Something I had neither of (most because I procrastinated – I finished the quilt the day Stacy went into labor)….
  • I FELT SO PROUD OF MY FINISHED PRODUCT!!!!
Hump Day
Love this little thing.

2 thoughts on “Fun Baby Gifts (Part 2)

Share your thoughts!

