Fun baby gifts (part 1)

If you haven’t read about my beautiful new niece, you are truly missing out 🙂

In preparation for her birth (and for a little payback) I have a few gifts that I have made over the last few months that I would like to boast about!

First of all, I made this beautiful contraption for the baby shower:

2013-01-11 12.27.432013-01-11 12.41.342013-01-11 12.44.39I know you are probably thinking, “what the heck is that”… BUT, there is a back story!!! After my brother and sister in law got married, someone (I don’t know who) went and destroyed their house. Well, not destroyed in a bad way but you know, all the usual things, like put all the sheets on the bed with rice and bird seed between each layer, and saran wrapped all the forks and put them all over the house, switched the living room and dining room furniture, took all the labels off all the cans….well, you get the point. 🙂 Some devious person (s) recreated what was done to my parents when they got married in 1979!

390195_10100414850338512_1229502338_n

Can you believe they honestly thought it was me??? 

Well, in return from them, last year for Christmas I got 50 cans all wrapped up and some of them had $5 gift cards on them.

(read more about this sibling rivalry here)

I started off having “mystery can dinner nights” but got skeeved out when I open a very expired can of artichokes. So, I just decided I’d hold on to them for the right time…. and then, they announced they were pregnant and my mind started turning! 🙂

All of those cans turned into this beautiful creation! I originally intended on it being a wall hanging, but let me tell you…. it is NOT EASY to get cans to adhere to one another. I tried hot glue, caulk, sticky glue, gorilla glue….nothing worked. So, I ended up attaching  it to cardboard and telling them to be very gentle with it.

2012-12-30 17.53.23

I have been buying little stuff since I decided on this idea to shove into each of the little cans and made a complete ‘S’ which they LOVED!!!!! It completely fell apart when they opened it up, so I told them they could throw them out or my bro could use it to put nuts and bolts or something in it 🙂

555334_10152435002755193_658499516_n
Stacy’s butt really isn’t this big, Mike was bending over behind her… haha

All in all, it was a project which made me want to pull my hair out that was a lot of fun! I don’t know if I would necessarily do it again (hopefully I don’t have to) but it’s the thought that counts!

I don’t know if any of you would ever do a project like this, but I just thought I would share because it’s been a project I’ve been working on for a LONG time! 🙂

 

 

4 thoughts on “Fun baby gifts (part 1)

  1. I’m sure Stacy appreciates the butt disclaimer, haha. This idea was adorable and I’m so glad they liked it. I can’t wait to see what happens during your wedding this summer… 😉

    1. We got a good chuckle outta that picture so I had to put the disclaimer! And nothing will happen during our wedding…. my neighbor with his shot gun will be sure of it 🙂

Share your thoughts!

