Recap: The Darn Crockpot Challenge

For the month of February I paired up with some of my blogettes and Julie at PBF on the challenge to make 10 crockpot meals over the course of the month. As I stated in my original post about this challenge, I LOVE my crockpot, but I don’t typically follow a recipe, I just throw anything in and it always usually turns out well!

Here’s a little recap of my journey and trying to keep up with the darn crockpot challenge and to use recipes!!! I didn’t quite make it to 10, but I used my crockpot a lot more but didn’t follow recipes!

#1: Chicken Tortilla Soup

I actually just enjoyed the leftovers from this meal at the end of last week, maybe even better than this time around.  Served with some avocado, plain greek yogurt, and That Green Sauce it was a delicious, filling meal. Would be great combined with #6, grandmother’s bread!

2013-01-16 06.14.10

#2: French Dip

So so so so so phenom.  Served with some au jus sauce and veggies, this little french dip sandwich was very flavorful and filling.

2013-01-16 19.43.05

#3: Pulled Pork

Hit the nail on the head with this one. I love pulled pork and I think it’s one of those hidden gems at some restaurants. I’m super picky about it so I really enjoyed making it at home. And, it was incredibly easy.

2013-01-18 21.11.02

#4: Failure Nachos

I don’t even know if this deserves a description. Epic fail is a good description. Click the link to read more.

2013-01-29 17.46.47

#5: Beef and Broccoli

The picture is disgusting, yes, I know. But, it was delicious! We don’t ever get Chinese food because Mike doesn’t like it, but I snuck this one into the challenge because I love ordering beef and broccoli …. now if only I could figure out how to make rice.

2013-02-12 17.25.14

#6: Grandmother Bread

This bread was delicious and so incredibly easy to make! I’ve made it 3 times since this trial and have enjoyed it with soup dinners, as sandwich bread and with a little jam in the morning!

I don't own wire racks, yet. They are on the registry.... :)
I don’t own wire racks, yet. They are on the registry…. 🙂

This was an AWESOME challenge and I loved every second of it! Thank you, Julie for igniting my crockpot! Although, I’m sure it’s ready for a little bit of a break! ((Mike might be too as he has been expecting crockpot meals!))

 

Related Links:

Good For The Soul Crockpot Challenge Recap

She Wines Sometimes Crockpot Challenge Recap

Running in a Skirt Crockpot Challenge Round Up

 

5 thoughts on “Recap: The Darn Crockpot Challenge

  1. Haha this post made Mike sound like such a Debbie downer. I’ve seen a few other recipes for beef and broccoli and now I’m craving it! 🙂

    1. haha that wasn’t my intention at all.. he works too much and really gets the left over portion of whatever I cook anyways. But, he doesn’t like chinese food (and I LOVE it) and he has literately walked in the door and said “I see the crockpot is out again!” Plus, I have had a few other fails like spaghetti sauce and tacos that I didn’t post (mostly because I didn’t follow a recipe for them haha)

Share your thoughts!

