Crockpot Challenge #6: Grandmother Bread

Because I am usually a “throw everything but the kitchen sink” crockpottin’ kinda gal, it’s SUPER hard for me to follow recipes for my crockpot meals! I usually am at a loss for what kind of recipes to look for so I usually give up and don’t make anything…. productive right?

Well, I wanted to try to make some sort of bread in the crockpot because I did look for some of those recipes! I’ve had the ingredients for mmmm 3 weeks now? But every time I go to start it, I realize I don’t have enough time (again with the time management thing). But yesterday I was ALL ABOUT IT!

I found this recipe online from Chickens in the Road and I figured it was relatively simple and I could probably do it…. most of the others I found had specific times for kneading (I don’t even know what kneading really is) and had wayyyyyyyy too many in depth instructions for what I was supposed to do!  The best part about this recipe is that I only had to  buy yeast and I had everything else!

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups warm water
1 teaspoon yeast
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons sugar
3 1/2 cups flour

Directions:

  • Combine water, yeast, sugar, and salt – let sit for 5 minutes
  • Stir in 1.5c of flour and mix with a heavy spoon
  • At this point, I added in 1 tbsp of flax seeds for some extra nutrients
  • Add the rest of the flour and continue stirring – gets REALLY tough
  • Add some more flour and begin kneading (again, I don’t know what this is so I just tossed it around)
  • This is where things got tricky… I’m not very good when recipes are vague and say “the amount of flour is approximate”, I never know what to do and feel like I’m gonna mess it up! (luckily, I didn’t….I don’t think)
  • Continue kneading (aka tossing around) until the dough is smooth and elastic
  • Grease a bowl and put the dough in
  • Cover and let rise for 30-60 minutes (I waited the full 60 for mine)
  • Uncover bowl, sprinkle with flour and knead again
  • Play in the flour and cover your hands and shape the dough into a basketball
  • Place into a greased 3.5 q. crock pot
  • Turn the crock pot on low
  • VERY IMPORTANT: allow a little bit of a crack in the lid so that your bread doesn’t get mushy!
  • Allow the bread to cook for 1 hour, dump it out and reenter the opposite way for equal cooking
  • Cook for 1 more hour then remove!
  • Viola! Bread!
I don't own wire racks, yet. They are on the registry.... :)
I don’t own wire racks, yet. They are on the registry…. 🙂

For the most part, the bread cooked pretty evenly – they are some spots that are still a little bit doughy, but all-in-all, it’s pretty fantastic.  I have enjoyed it for breakfast, warmed a little in the microwave, with a little bit of jam! Yummy!

I can’t wait to make this bread again, it was delicious! I am also really hoping to get the bread maker we registered for because it won’t require me to be around every hour while I’m baking the bread! 🙂

Related Links:

The Best Bread Ever – Kim takes wayyyyy better pictures than I do.

Crockpot Monkey Bread!  Sounds phenomenal!

5 thoughts on “Crockpot Challenge #6: Grandmother Bread

  1. This seriously had me laughing out loud. “Toss the bread around” and “play in the flour” were my favorite excerpts. I’ll teach you how to knead dough some day haha. And now I know what to buy as part of your wedding gift.

    Also – this post highlights exactly how different we are. And I still don’t understand our friendship. But I love you regardless! 🙂

    1. Glad I could help you with the wedding gift 🙂 I have no idea how to knead dough, but I know how to get knots out of backs, it’s the same motion, right?!?

      And yes, it TOTALLY highlights why we are different! But that’s okay, we’d be boring friends if we were the same!

Share your thoughts!

