Crockpot Challenge #5: Beef and Broccoli

One of my favorite meals: Chinese food.

One of Mike least favorite meals: Chinese food.

Therefore in almost 2 years, I have had Chinese food once….and I just made it the other day.

I adapted a recipe I found on Table for Two and it seemed super easy, I just had to go out and buy sesame sauce! Please check out her website for what the recipe should look like because my picture looks quite disgusting and doesn’t represent how well it tasted!!!

2013-02-12 17.25.14
Told ya it looks pretty gross, right?

 

INGREDIENTS:

1 lb. boneless, beef chuck roast, sliced into thin strips (I used stew meat)

1 cup beef consumme or beef broth

1/2 cup low sodium soy sauce

1/3 cup dark brown sugar

1 tbsp. sesame oil

3 garlic cloves, minced

2 tbsp. cornstarch

4 tbsp. sauce (from the crockpot after dish is cooked)

Frozen broccoli florets (as many as desired, I believe I used almost 2 cups)

White rice, cooked (I used brown rice)

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. In the insert of the crockpot, whisk together beef consume, soy sauce, dark brown sugar, sesame oil, and garlic.
  2. Gently place your slices of beef in the liquid and toss to coat.
  3. Turn crockpot on low and cook for 6 hours. (I had mine on high for 4 hours)
  4. When done, in a small bowl, whisk together cornstarch and cooking liquid to create a slurry, pour into crockpot, stir to mix well. Cook on low for an additional 30 minutes to thicken up the sauce.
  5. Toss in your broccoli florets then serve hot over white rice.

THOUGHTS:

  1. I suck at cooking rice – I don’t think I cooked it long enough (even though I went over the time) and it ended up being a little crunchy.
  2. I’m bad at time management (shocker) and I wanted to cook it on high but spent too much time doing homework and at the gym!
  3. It was difficult to get the sauce to thicken, especially since I cooked it for less time and on high. So I thickened most of the sauce on the stovetop.
  4. THIS RECIPE WAS DELICIOUS and I will DEFINITELY make it again when I have the time to start it early enough for the full 6 hours!!!
2 thoughts on “Crockpot Challenge #5: Beef and Broccoli

  1. Did Mike/chinese food hater like it?! It sounds good to me… Maybe you needed more corn starch in the crock pot? With your rice do you cover it while it cooks? I think that’s helpful, idk I’m always so worried about it over cooking and it sticking to the pot! haha

Share your thoughts!

