January Book Review…

As you can see from my 2013 Goals, I would like to read one book every month! This was something I started last year and I did really well with it!

However, I’m now in school. And school means lots and lots of reading.

So, in an effort to not fail on my on my goal, I did in fact read a book this month… although I had to for an assignment, it is still a book and I still read it! So here’s a brief little review!

Johnson, A. G. (2006). Privilege, power, and difference (2nd ed.). Mountain View, CA: MayfieldPublishing Company.
Johnson, A. G. (2006). Privilege, power, and difference (2nd ed.). Mountain View, CA: Mayfield
Publishing Company.

For those of you that don’t know, I am seeking my doctoral degree in Educational Leadership.  My bachelor’s and master’s degrees are both in athletic training, so it’s an interesting transition as I am no longer learning anything about injuries and rehabilitation! I have transitioned my focus into understanding the structure and function of higher education, which led me to take a Diversity and Equity class.

During Christmas break, we got an email from the professor indicating that we needed to have this book read by the 2nd week of class. So, like the overachiever I am, I started reading….. the wrong book.  I got half way through the other textbook for the class (150 pages) and realized on the first day of class that I was reading the wrong one. Stupid Jenny. 

Anyways, this book was a pretty fast read and was incredibly interesting.  It forced me to think about the privilege in our society and how white/male/heterosexual/able-bodied individuals have the “privilege and power” in our society which diminishes the ability of others that don’t fit that “mold” to have privilege, power, and make a difference.

That’s about all of a synopsis I am going to give since I don’t think many people care to hear about my textbook for class. BUT – I did read a book in January! 🙂

What book have you read during January?

If you’re in school, have you read about something similar? 

One thought on “January Book Review…

Share your thoughts!

