Crockpot Challenge #3: Pulled Pork

Pulled pork sandwiches are my favorite. Secretly.

I don’t know what it is about it…I don’t usually order it at restaurants and I have never made it before.  But when I go to someone’s house and that’s what is for dinner I AM EXCITED!!

So while I was at the grocery store trying to plan out some of my crockpot meals, I found this McCormick package and decided to go for it.

2013-01-18 08.43.11

This recipe called for:

  • 3 pounds boneless pork shoulder roast, trimmed
  • 1 package McCormick® Slow Cookers BBQ Pulled Pork Seasoning Mix 
  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup cider vinegar

This time I did follow the recipe and mixed all the ingredients together in a bowl first then pour it over the pork roast (I have a tendency to not follow directions).

2013-01-18 09.00.26

After you cook it thoroughly (8 hours on LOW OR 4 hours on HIGH). Pull the pork out (no pun intended) and shred with 2 forks. Throw it on a bun and ENJOY!

2013-01-18 21.11.02I served it on a bun roll with some cheese and rice. The best part is the leftovers! I mixed it with the rice for a few days for my lunches and it was MMMM MMM GOOD! 🙂

Related Articles to Check Out:

8 thoughts on “Crockpot Challenge #3: Pulled Pork

  1. That looks yummy even though I don’t eat pork anymore!! If you really like pulled pork, I made this recipe last year and it was AMAZING! http://allrecipes.com/recipe/bourbon-mango-pulled-pork/

    I used sweet baby rays bbq sauce because that is my favorite. The mango and honey gave it a slightly sweet flavor and the chipotle powder gave it a TINY bit of spice (not much, promise you can handle it!) Anyway, I highly recommend this recipe next time you’re in the mood for pulled pork!

Share your thoughts!

