What to do when the dogs wake you up at 5am….

Blog of course!

It’s been a rough few days here with the integration of the new puppy! Well, it hasn’t been that bad, but the fact that I am writing this at 5:48am doesn’t make me all that happy!

We originally put Stella’s cage upstairs in the spare bedroom (where all my lovely crafts are) and the poor pup just hated it. Whined and howled and barely slept a wink (meaning she slept most of the day). Well, I put up with it for a few days and just couldn’t handle it anymore….

Just a few nights in, Stella figured out how to get outta her cage. Guess Australian Shepherds are smart.... my new sewing machine is being put to good use!
Just a few nights in, Stella figured out how to get outta her cage. Guess Australian Shepherds are smart…. my new sewing machine is being put to good use!

The clincher was when I let our other dog, Tinsley, out of her cage in the kitchen one morning and she BOLTED straight up the stairs to get her sister. Something had to be done.

2013-01-02 10.04.29
Waiting to get her sister from upstairs… and yes, the plant is horrid, I just keep forgetting to throw it out on trash day! 🙂

So I brought the ginormous cage downstairs so it practically fills our entire dining room.

And just like that, silence from Stella.

Who would have known that all she wanted was to be around her sister. Awwwwwww

However, this little puppy, at 9 weeks old, still has a bladder the size of a dried pea. Which, lucky for me, means 4:30am wake-ups to let her outside! Yippy!

These usually go pretty smoothly and they go right back in the cage to bed. However, we have found out that our neighbors get their grandkids dropped off at about 5:20am every single morning.  And when those car doors slam, you better bet Tinsley is on high alert and barking like a fool.

So yes, here I am …. wide awake and with two pups snoozing at my side.

Stella, fast asleep.
Stella, fast asleep.

2013-01-06 10.10.12

Guess I’ll get some homework done now… Have a great day everyone! Remember to smile! 🙂

4 thoughts on “What to do when the dogs wake you up at 5am….

    1. Haha…. I would love it if that was the case! Phew, they are EXHAUSTING! At least I have the ability to have a bit more of a relaxed schedule right now! Don’t know what I would do otherwise!

  1. Every day is training… I haven’t taken her to a class or anything, yet.
    But we do little things each day such as sit, stay, don’t bite… Yesterday I attempted to take her on her first walk and it was hilarious. The good thing is that I took the other pup Tinsley with me, so Stella just wanted to chase after her! Could have been worse I guess! When Tinsley was a puppy she would barely walk on a leash 5 feet without sitting down.

    The good thing is that Shepherds need a lot of exercise, so I’m hoping she and Tinsley will both be my running buddies!

Share your thoughts!

