This week’s fake Wine Wednesday birthday celebration

I didn’t have wine on Wednesday(insert shock!!!)…. instead, I’m celebrating Thirsty Thursday! I celebrated this Thirsty Thursday with a tall Bud Light.

I don’t typically order a Bud Light, it’s not necessarily my cup of tea. But, I honor my dad with his favorite beer on days I’m thinking of him or on days when I want to celebrate his life.

Today would have been my dad’s 65th birthday.

IMG_1218

I can’t believe he would be SO OLD!!! Haha I remember this feeling 5 years ago when he would have turned 60, but dang! 65! I love to imagine what he would have been like as a 65 year old man – I imagine not much different than when he passed away at 54…. Still a little prankster, with almond squinty eyes that cried when he laughed hard, still putting his orange peels into his coffee cup while driving to work, singing Shania Twain’s “Man, I Feel Like a Woman” and Bob Segar’s “Old Time Rock and Roll” at the top of his lungs, rolling Mr. B’s cigars around in his mouth, and one finger typing on the computer (can’t even imagine texting!!)

Life is so short. I lost my dad when he was 54 years young …he had so much life to live as do my mom, brothers and I. It saddens me to think about how much he has missed in the time that he has not been on this Earth and all that he will miss in the future. Yet, I am confident he has been watching over all of us and I know that I will see him again someday.

Celebrate we will – life is short but sweet for certain.

2013-01-02 20.53.18

Happy Birthday, Daddy – this one’s for you. Hope you’re having one heck of a good time up there. xoxo

4 thoughts on “This week’s fake Wine Wednesday birthday celebration

Share your thoughts!

