Week 4 of 10k training

Just a little bit ago I updated my page on my training for a 10k. To be honest, I’m not really running a 10k, just needed the motivation and plan.

I can’t believe that I am on my 4th week of this training program, it’s really crazy to think about.  I am half way there!

This month has been a bit of a challenge for me with the changing in the weather, decrease in motivation, decrease in energy, increase in papers and readings for school, and rain. Yuck.
But I really do think I am doing an okay job of fighting through.  I am not doing as well as I really want to be, but the reality is that I am getting it done. I may not be following the plan exactly, but I am following it, I’m doing it.

I have talked to a few people recently who have told me that my running is inspiring them… I can’t even express how good that makes me feel.  I work so hard every day to get my butt out of bed or away from the desk to get my workout on.  My mind gives me mixed signals constantly, but I work so hard to overcome that little devil telling me that it’s okay to not do it. So, to inspire people. Wow, that’s pretty cool. I’ll admit, I post my runs on Twitter and on Facebook so that people can see what I’ve done – I’m proud of it, so why shouldn’t I show it off?? I know I have people supporting me and following my progress, so it’s my duty to not let them down.

So, if you’re looking for some motivation or some inspiration, let me help. This is what I think about my exercising….. I’m not perfect. I’m an awful runner. I like the feeling after working out but hate the feeling before getting it done. My mind constantly tells me to stop. My body aches before, during, and after every run and workout. My body is constantly sore. I sweat like a pig. My face becomes as red as a tomato and people probably think I am struggling immensely. I love when people smile at Tinsley when we are running. I am not seeing the changes to my body like I want to. I know that’s okay, but it’s still hard to accept. I cried for an entire run 2 weeks ago. I throw my hands in the air and yell when I PR in something, all alone on the trail. I have stopped to puke twice while running (unsuccessfully). I have the shortest, slowest strides, ever. I’m okay with it. I DON’T WANT TO STOP.

2 thoughts on “Week 4 of 10k training

  1. I am very proud of you Jen – keep up the good work – you CAN do it! Pretend that I am running right along side of you and we are running to get to super fantastic sales at Hobby Lobby, Christmas Tree Shop and Marshall’s – and there are clowns chasing us to beat us there!!
    Love ya doll! xo (Remember “The Little Engine That Could”? I think I can..I think I can..I think I can…….I know I can!)

  2. Thanks, Mom 🙂 I’ll have to start thinking about “The Little Engine That Could” when I’m running… good idea! And chasing clowns would get me to run faster too…..

Share your thoughts!

