Today is the little nugget’s birthday!!!

2 years ago I had ended a long-term relationship, moved back to Michigan, started a new job… Despite all the changes in my life, I new I was missing something. So, I went in search of a puppy – around 2 years old so I didn’t have to train it too much and it was already over that dreadful puppy stage.

Instead, I ended up with this.

Not a 2 year old established dog. A 3 month old Chug mix puppy who was formerly named Sadie. Yes, a Chug. A chihuahua/pug mix.

I had been looking at (Sadie) and her brothers and sister on PetFinder and had gone to visit them twice. On the second time, I played with her, filled out the paperwork, was approved, and SURPRISINGLY walked out with a bag of dog food and a puppy! Whoa! I had NOTHING for her! My friend Jackie went with me to the Southwest Michigan Humane Society and took all these adorable pictures of the unnamed pup, so loved!

We quickly stopped at the dollar store to get a cat collar, two toys, and some treats. Then, she went to work with me because I had to go right in!

She was a hit with all the women’s basketball players! And so began the name hunt.

I wanted it to be something to do with her being a “Chug” and of course something with Dave Matthews Band. We threw out names like Stella, Coral….. and ended up with Tinsley. It fits her like a glove.

She has seriously brought so much love and joy to my life. I couldn’t ask for a better companion and a better dog. Since the beginning, she has opened up to Mike and he has accepted us as a package deal and has turned into an amazing padre. He thinks that she and I are quirky and a little weird, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. She is such an amazing part of my life.

Today, she is celebrating her second birthday, complete with additional gray hair on her beard, itchy ears resulting in an ear cleaning, and a bath for her greasy chihuahua coat….all the things she hates but welcome to the real world Tins.

This morning has been a complete Tinsley celebration and I am sure it will continue throughout the day. Growing up, we had a yellow lab named Scarlett and she always got a pancake on her birthday and I like to continue that tradition. Additionally, Mike’s family has a singing birthday candle that makes it’s presence at every birthday…. so we combined the two traditions! And she got spoiled with bones, food, a new toy and pig ears!

Again, I can’t stress the love she has brought to my life. And it wouldn’t have been possible if I didn’t make the choice to adopt.

Please consider adopting pets. They need love and a good home. Find your local shelter and check out the animals and give a pet a chance. You won’t regret it.

2 thoughts on “Today is the little nugget’s birthday!!!

Share your thoughts!

