Is the week over with yet?????

For some reason, this week has been really tough for me – I feel like I’m on the verge of getting sick, frustrated with my working out/weight loss, and just overall exhausted!

Mike has lovingly referred to me as a “walking sickie” because anytime there is minimal change in weather, I’m sick. I don’t get it – I take my adult gummy vitamins every day, drink plenty of water, get enough sleep, exercise…. guess it’s just a test of my resiliency!

Illness

Awesome spelled wrong, I know – just thought it was too cute and I didn’t make it 🙂

So to fight through the week, I have had some really good work outs (not seeing the results I want) and I have worked REALLY REALLY REALLY hard to be proactive with my studies and research (which has paid off) I even got a 30 minute nap today at my desk! (my desk = a tiny desk in the middle of a huge room of other desks for all the other grad assistants!)

If this is how I am feeling 3 weeks into my PhD program, I wonder how I am going to feel at the end of the semester….???? Ahhh!!! Welcome to the life of a doctoral student, I guess!

In terms of workouts I had a bit of an internal struggle yesterday… my shins have been hurting me from running so I was debating between taking Tinsley for a long walk or taking a class at a local women’s fitness place. So, naturally, I asked Mike for his opinion and he said it was too cold to take Tinsley for a walk, BOOM! Decision made!

First of all, I would love to give a bit shout out to Live Out Loud (or as Mike calls it, Ladies of Love) – a studio in the heart of Goshen that is run by 2 women. The offer a myriad of classes for women. So far I have taken a Long and Lean class (hard), Zumba (super fun), and Wednesday’s class, Vanity. Now, the description given on the website is

“You’re so vain you probably thing this workout was designed for you. Total body toning with special emphasis on trouble areas. You know which ones we mean! This class meets at underground.”

Well, I didn’t know what to expect, but man was it a phenomenal workout. We did a 45 minutes of a full body work out – muscle strength and endurance and some cardio. We did 8 sets of each exercises for 20 seconds with a 10 second rest in between each set. Yes, I thought “WOW” also. Needless to say, I am took an extended shower this morning to stretch in the heat, can barely get out of my chair today, and really had to think twice about taking the stairs over the elevator.

As I mentioned (and have spoke with Kim about), I’m getting frustrated about the (lack of) results from exercising, but I know I need to just keep plugging along. In about 3.5 weeks I have lost about 5 pounds (when Mike can drop 18 by just changing his eating habits, jerk).www.Functionalfitmag.com

I don’t think it’s enough, but it’s better than nothing, and I need to remind myself of that! I know that I have more endurance and stamina, am gaining more strength and I completed my first 5k. I need to be really proud of myself and not get too bogged down! It’s easier said than done though… any pointers for some motivation?!

Fitness

Once tonight’s class is over with, I’ll head home to have the weekend to relax (hopefully not bake), do some class work, hang out with my friend Stange (hopefully at the ND vs UofM game), and spend some much needed time with the fiance. Ah yes, and get better so I can get back out there and spend some quality time with the pup and the gravel walking path. I have to remember this... julie

One thought on “Is the week over with yet?????

Share your thoughts!

