5k: I did it!

This morning, Mike and I ran the Indiana University Goshen Hospital Cancer Center 5k to support their research efforts. We did it!! I pushed through the shin splints and the cramps in my side and I finished in 33:09 and Mike finished in 35:04. I am so proud of us!

While I wasn’t able to run the entire thing without walking a little bit, I met some of my mini goals I set for myself, one of which included running an entire mile without stopping. I know to some that might not seem like a big deal, but it is for me. I’ve never been much of a runner and I always give up really easily for the stupidest reasons so to be able to accomplish just one mile was awesome. The rest of the way I didn’t walk much, and my pace stayed about the same for every mile, but I would really like to get to the point where I don’t have to walk at all.

I do need to admit that I feel really good and accomplished. Additionally, we supported a great cause. Mike had a lady running with him who kept encouraging him and others by saying “come on, keep running, we are running for those who can’t”. What an inspiration.

Last night I made a “pre-game” meal of pasta and veggies (it was awesome!) I had planned to just chill and watch some tv, then got a call from a friend to meet up at the bar. Probably not the best decision and I am sure I could have done A LOT better if I would have avoided that…

What I learned with my first 5k:

  • Training is important, but so is listening to your body – I took a little more time off than I would have liked because of reoccurring shin splints
  • Don’t forget to upload your new workout playlist to the ipod! I realized on the drive to the event that I made the playlist but didn’t transfer it over!
  • Don’t wear long sleeves – even if it is a bit chilly! I was sweating by the end!
  • Breakfast in the morning was crucial. I had a bowl of Fiber One Cereal (which is really delicious) with a handful of blueberries
  • Hydration is INCREDIBLY important – I didn’t do the best job hydrating yesterday and this morning and I felt the effects of it when my calves started to cramp and tighten up. Had some Gatorade supplements before and after the run too.
  • The bar the night before was not a good idea. I was going to have a glass of wine and it ended up as 2 glasses of wine then two drinks at the bar. Bad decision.
  • Sleep more! ((shouldn’t this be the motto for every day?))
  • I really enjoyed training while running with Tinsley, she helped push me a little bit more
  • Steady pace is incredibly important and I know I have one!
  • Stay relaxed in the beginning and don’t try to join up with the top runners. I really took this advice to heart (Thank you, Julie at Avocado Run!) Mike fell into this trap and ended up getting winded pretty quick
  • I have a lot of love and support from family and friends – I am very blessed.

Most importantly, I have learned that I want to keep going!! I have really enjoyed my “training” for this and want to keep doing more. I don’t know if I will continue on the path of being a runner in the future, but this has been nice and given me a drive to make a commitment to a healthier life. We are going to do another 5k on Thanksgiving, but maybe we can find another one in the process – Mike, who was doing this to just support me – declared he would love to look into another one, as soon as we got home. Love him. 🙂

2 thoughts on “5k: I did it!

  1. Yayy!! I’m so happy for you!! Congrats!! I want to do this too! Adam and I are planning on doing one on Thanksgiving! (I’m sure I’ll be running/walking, but it’ll still be worth it!) I’m sure it’ll make me feel better about all the delicious things I plan on eating that day! haha In the past 6 months, I have been saying I am going to train for one and then only getting about 2 weeks into it before quitting! I know I can’t do that, but I’m not sure how to increase my motivation and how to stick with it! I’ve never been a runner either, but I know I should just do it! Do you have any tips?

Share your thoughts!

