Week #2 = conquered!

Well, I don’t know how much I have really relayed this point, but I have quit my “grown-up” job in order to go back to school to pursue my PhD in Higher Educational Leadership. I think I am crazy, a little Eat, Pray, Love”-ish….. But so far it is working out. Yet, I am only 2 weeks in.

In order to obtain a little bit of income, I have an associateship helping 3 professors with their personal research. Yes, my 20 of work is “split” between 3 people – just met my last cooperating professor today, phew am I going to busy….on top of 3 classes, my own research, starting a dissertation, ah yes, and my 1:15min drive 3 days/week.

Report of the first full week: (keep in mind I drive a Jeep Compass, not the most fuel efficient)
Total time: 7 hours 19 minutes
Total distance: 335.7 miles
End miles/gallon: 27.3

I managed to squeak by on 1 tank of gas, despite one day of rushed driving in order to make it to a meeting on time for a meeting.

I know I am only 2 weeks into this driving, but so far I have enjoyed it. I began last week by listening to the radio and my music on my iPod and I have switched over to listening to a book on tape, thanks to my bestie Kim!! This is my first experience listening to a book and I am really enjoying it. I am reading The Next Best Thing by Jennifer Weiner and I am so intrigued by the characters, the plot, and the voice of the narrator! I can’t wait to find more book when this one is finished! What a great way to spend my time and take a little break away from textbooks, talk radio, and worries!

On a FITNESS note, I am 2 days away from the 5k and I don’t have any idea on how my “training” is going. I took today off as I did some running/lifting yesterday and my shins are on fire! Of course, I know exactly how to take care of that with my career (rest, ice, ibuprofen, different shoes, less impact, orthotics, hip strengthening, etc) yet I haven’t done anything for it, except take ibuprofen, once. Needless to say, I have I idea what I am going to do for my workout tomorrow as I need to take a it a little easy, but still need to keep these lungs stressed out!! Perhaps a light run will work… I don’t know what light is, ha.

Today was tough, and I wanted nothing but to be filled with caffeine all day. So, I used a lovely gift card I received from a former athlete and made my rounds to Biggby, twice.

20120913-231934.jpg

If you don’t have a Biggby in your area, you need to hunt them out. I believe some Sam’s Clubs sell the big bag of Biggby coffee and I am sure they have some K cups, like every other company – do you think Ben and Jerry’s has some in the works? Yummmmmm ice cream flavored coffee….. Phish food maybe?

I first tried this little gem, a cleverly named Chumpkin. Chai and pumpkin. Needless to say, my world was changed. Please try some form of this, you won’t regret it.

I hope you all had a wonderful day – I am looking forward to a relaxed day tomorrow filled with a workout, kisses from Tinsley, exploring my new iPad, finishing up my darn HSIRB training, and oh yeah, reading, reading, and more reading.

Peace and pineapples 🙂

Share your thoughts!

