Weekend recap!

Happy Monday morning! The start to a new week makes me reflect back on the awesome weekend I had!

Friday was a day filled with school work and more school work! I managed to break away when Mike came home from work and we met up with his parents for the Goshen Noon Kiwanis Cornhole tournament – Mike and his dad were competing and I think they were a bit incredibly surprised to find out that other people had “skill” and actually participated in tournaments regularly…. Needless to say they were the first ones eliminated from the regular bracket and the losers bracket… but we got to explore Goshen’s First Friday event downtown – walked around (in the rain) and explored the little shops and all the vendors worked so hard to produce. I’ve always wanted to go so it was perfect that we finally got the chance!

Delicious Chicago Dog 🙂

We stopped off at a little bar/restaurant for dinner and I (excitedly) picked a Chicago dog and an Oberon – have to represent Michigan whenever possible. If you’ve never had either, you’re missing out on life. Or so I think. Obviously, a Chicago dog isn’t the healthiest selection, but everything in life should be taken in moderation!

Saturday was an amazing, eventful day! For some reason, I wake up early on the weekends and don’t want to get up during the week days (but that’s a story for another day). I woke up and made some AMAZING Teavanna Chai Blend Tea and started doing some school work and waited for Mike to drag his lazy butt outta the bed! We walked down to the Farmer’s Market (probably one of the best things about our house, the location!) Again, something I always wanted to do but we have never had the chance!

It was just as great as I thought it was going to be! So many local farmers/artists selling their produce, canned goods, and crafts! We walked away with some beautiful Zinnia’s, carrots, cucumbers, basil, banana peppers, and kale. I have no idea what to do with Kale but I wanted to get something out of the box! Adventuring I go!  One little pup was excited we were happy but was hoping for a pig’s ear… When we got back, I cooked up some egg cups, courtesy of Kim! I first tried them out first hand at her place then she listed the recipe on her blog and I had to try them out! We added tomato and basil for a bit more of a flair, DELICIOUS!

nice little Saturday 🙂

 

 

After we got all of this put away we  both went back to the school work and I convinced Mike to take a ‘little’ run break with me and Tinsley. 😉 We went a total of 4 miles! Woohoo! Well, walk/ran 4 miles, I’m not that good, yet.  It was fun to run with him because he has a faster pace than I do so it was like a real race, and I am very competitive, so I loved it!! We are both going to do a 5k this coming Saturday (ah!) to benefit IU Cancer Center and their research – neither one of us have been training the way we should be, but I think it’s a good place to start and a way for us/me to say I DID IT! Can’t wait!

 

 

 

Sunday was spent at brunch with Mike’s family – if you are a brunch person, check out your nearest Bonefish Grill – they have just started offering brunch and it is PHENOM. After that, we went to check out Mike’s brother and sis-in-law’s new house – just beautiful! They are going to be so happy there!!! The rest of the day was dedicated to relaxation and wedding planning. I am making a pledge to myself that I will TRY MY BEST to keep Sunday’s to Mike and I – no school work if I can help it!

Today’s plan – school work, reading, projects, mid-afternoon run and more work (shocker, I know!)

Enjoy this BEAUTIFUL fall day and think about how blessed you are to be loved. xo

2 thoughts on “Weekend recap!

  1. I’d love it! We made some beef stew last night and I added some to that, but I have some more to play with – I’ve seen kale chips before, so I thought about trying that, but don’t know! I love your recipes, so yes please!

Share your thoughts!

