Happy Labor Day!

Happy Labor Day Monday to you all!

Can’t believe it’s the end of summer! That means that school starts tomorrow for me! Woohoo! I am very excited, not nervous which is great! I’m already one class in from this summer, so I feel comfortable with the amount of work I might be coming across and the amount of time this might all take. However, that was only 1 class, not 3 with an assistantship….. I still know nothing about my assistantship yet, which is supposed to start tomorrow. Hmm….we’ll see how that turns out!

Labor Day has been spent Laboring, but it’s okay.

Mike went to work late today, so we were able to have a delicious Taco Salad lunch together. I cooked the meat up with onions and green and red peppers.  I through in some homemade coupons, banana peppers, tomato, and a little bit of Wisconsin cheese! I added a smidge of Ranch dressing to mine (I just love it, too much) and ate away! It was delicious!

Image

ImageI love homemade croutons. We had some bread that was getting a little stale so I cut it up into chunks and laid down on a foiled cookie sheet. (Preheat oven to 350). I used a tablespoon to sprinkle a little bit of olive oil on each piece, then added all the toppings! Today I used garlic powder, onion powder, and fresh/chopped basil and oregano from my “garden”. Baked for about 12 minutes, until golden brown. Let cool and enjoy! So delicious – great way to spice up a salad or soup.

Update from my workout from yesterday – SO SORE. SO SO SO SORE. Feels great 🙂 But, really made me think about what to do for my workout today…. So, in between cleaning each room of the house I completed some of a Skinnygirl Yoga DVD, SUCH A GREAT WORKOUT! I was really surprised as I am not usually a Yoga person, but I got a great work out and was really happy with it. I did 35 minutes of the 50 that I wanted to because I was just THAT SORE. Thanks for the great gift, Kim 🙂 (Check out her blog)

I did a complete deep clean of the house today – awesome to have done before class start tomorrow! Here’s a few things I learned while cleaning today:

  1. It’s incredible where dog hair can go. I found dog hair in places in this house that amazed me.
  2. Boys are dirty.
  3. Tinsley loves chasing the vacuum, weird.
  4. I have too many clothes. (maybe)
  5. I am obsessed with candles when I clean…. I like to light candles in each room I clean as I keep progressing to the next room. Not only does it make everything smell great, but I get a great sense of accomplishment when I look back at what I’ve done!

Image

Well, it’s time to go pack up my pens, highlighters, and make my lunch 🙂 Enjoy the rest of your Labor Day as this little mutt has enjoyed hers…. Image

2 thoughts on “Happy Labor Day!

  1. Yum! I remember your mom made us homemade croutons once when she was visiting. So amazing! Did you intentionally post the thinking man to see if I’d comment? Creepy. Hope you can sleep tonight before your first big day! CONGRATS! 🙂

    1. Yes, I did post the thinking man just for you 🙂 I had a different picture of just the candles, but I had to retake so you could see him. I know you miss him, he misses you too.

      I’m sure I’ll sleep okay. Got a glass of merlot, painting my nails, watching HGTV. Only way it could be beat is if you were sitting here with me!

Share your thoughts!

