Need to change.

This past week I celebrated my birthday – I was very loved by many and I am really fortunate to have such great people in my life. This birthday was a bit more reflective for me than anything as I realize there are aspects of my life I would really like to change and work on. My fitness/health being the first.

I have always been an athlete, participating in multiple sports, staying active by playing IM sports, and exercising. Since being out of school and entering into the “real world” I have let this side of me slip. Sure, I love playing sports and working out – but I don’t do it nearly as much as I should, or need to.

I’ve always been the person that thinks, “this month I will make the change”, “this will make it happen”, thought my Wedding would be enough motivation…. so far in the last 5 months, I have made that pledge to myself 3 times and done nothing about it. I am upset with myself for doing so, but it’s pretty typical of how my past has gone.

I want and NEED to make the change, and I want it to start NOW. Last week, I went with my future mother in law to do a consultation with a local gym that is opening up in October to find out what they are going to offer and membership prices. Seems very reasonable to me ($29.99/month) and I am excited about them opening because it’s in walking distance from where we live. With the discussion Mike and I had, it’s a matter of finding the money in the budget! Additionally, there is another gym going in, within walking distance, but I haven’t heard anything about their pricing/time they are opening yet.

I do take Tinsley on walks and go for some run/walks, but it’s just not enough for me, I enjoy variety and can’t get much of it that way. I will be going back to school this upcoming week, so I will have access to the gym at WMU, but I am hoping to be up there only 3 days a week, which still leaves open time.

I was thinking about signing up for this 5k, just to give myself some sort of motivation to be running now, but can’t find myself able to really commit to it. Additionally, I found an awesome Groupon deal for exercise classes, but it’s about 40 minutes away! Too bad!

I need to do it. I need to make the change. I need someone to be with me to push and challenge me.

Thoughts on some motivation with this? I’d love advice….

One thought on “Need to change.

  1. I know I’m far away, but if you want me to nag you and hold you accountable for your goals, just say the words! However you decide to make your changes, I know you’ll succeed.

Share your thoughts!

