Phenom versions of banana bread!

I get very bored when I am home alone all day – I get antsy and need to constantly be doing something, today’s mission: BAKE!

I am a very picky banana eater – therefore, any banana that has any brown on it I will not eat.  In an effort to get rid of some brown nanners and some frozen ones (Mike thinks I have 30 old bananas in the freezer that take up too much space), I attempted to make banana bread. I love banana bread and have made it a variety of ways  my favorites are with chocolate chips and applesauce! However, I didn’t have chips nor applesauce, so I went with plan B.

I searched around for some healthy options to banana bread and stumbled on this lovely blog! After about an hour of looking through everything on her blog and Pinterest board, I decided to tackle the recipe – Greek Yogurt Blueberry Banana Bread! Yum!

Next came plan C – I didn’t have any blueberries, so I used frozen strawberries and peaches. I let them thaw and smashed with a potato masher so they were more fine…. attempt at Honey Greek Yogurt Strawberry-Peach Banana Bread! 🙂

I used a 13×9 for the fruity bread because I wanted bars and then also made this recipe with no other extras, just banana

Turned out delicious!! Had some as a little snack when it was all done and made a few plates to give out to our neighbors for helping while we were on vacation – home-baking is always a great way to say thanks 🙂

Here is the recipe as listed on http://www.nosugarsweetlife.com:

Greek Yogurt Blueberry Banana Bread

Ingredients

1 1⁄2 cup Whole Wheat Pastry Flour
3 tablespoons Whole Wheat Pastry Flour
1 1⁄2 teaspoonBaking Powder
1⁄2 teaspoonkosher salt ((optional))
1⁄2 cup Brown Sugar (or 1/4 cup agave nectar)
1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
3 Large ripe bananas
2 Eggs
6 ounces Chobani Vanilla Greek Yogurt (or Blueberry) I used Honey Greek Yogurt, tastes DELICIOUS
1 cup Blueberries (fresh or frozen) I used strawberries and peaches

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Start by combining flour, baking powder, salt in a large mixing bowl.
  2. In a separate bowl, mash bananas with a fork until they are gooey and liquid-like.
  3. Add eggs, vanilla and brown sugar… mix thoroughly.
  4. Add greek yogurt
  5. Whisk until everything is well combined and there are no lumps.
  6. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, and mix until just combined.  At this point, fold in the blueberries.
  7. Pour batter into a greased loaf pan and distribute evenly.
  8. Put into the oven and bake for one hour, or until the top is golden brown and a toothpick comes out clean.
  9. Transfer to a cooling rack and (try to) let the bread cool for at least ten minutes before slicing.
Share your thoughts!

